The D4 Hypnotherapy Clinic

 

Our Services

Buy Sessions from €99

  • Weight Loss
  • Stop Smoking
  • Fear of Flying
  • Anxiety/Stress
  • Public Speaking
  • Instant Confidence
  • Insomnia
  • Reduce Alcohol
  • Pain Management
  • Gambling Issues
  • Fear of Clowns
  • Food Relationship

Subscribe to the D4 Clinic Newsletter

Try Hypnosis NOW


Listen to a Free Relaxation Session

*Not to be used when driving or using machinery. Not suitable for those on psychiatric medicine or those with epilepsy.

Try Hypnosis NOW


Listen to a Free Relaxation Session

*Not to be used when driving or using machinery. Not suitable for those on psychiatric medicine or those with epilepsy.

Call us now on 086 7834952 for a free phone consultation.

What D4 Clients say about us…

 

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change.

*Please also be aware that those who were very over weight and came to the clinic are very private about their weight so full names are sometimes not given here to stop people being identified.

“Hi Jason, Hope all is well. I just wanted to drop you a quick message to let you know that I’m off the fags three months today! I don’t know what you did, but it worked. Anyway, I thought it only fair to credit you for the day that’s in it.
If you’re ever down this way and fancy a cuppa in Listowel etc., just let me know.
Thanks for your help”

-Arthur.

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change.

“I have lost over 3 stone with thanks to hypnotherapy gastric band operation, I just wanted to thank you for all your help. I feel like a different person now. My diet and lifestyle has changed and I am a much happier person. Thanks again.”

-Anne C, Dundalk

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change.

“Hi Jason, just a note to thank you for the sessions. I am now on week 10 since I came to you first and am down just over 2.5 stone and am so happy with upcoming wedding that I can fit into the dress size I wanted to. See you again soon for another visit.”

-Mary B. Tallaght

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change

“Just a quick email to thank you for the recent sessions, I did four in total and found with each one I was able to relax more and more. My weight loss is going well and I am down 44 lbs in 3 months. Exercise is going well and food intake is right down. I still have a few more stone to go but the road ahead is looking good. I will be in touch to book another session when I get back from my break.”

-Maureen N. Ringsend

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change.

“Hi Jason, how you doing. I am going great since we last spoke, down just 2 stone and finding I feel much better and have a lot more energy each day. Walking daily and listening to my stomach has made a lot of difference. My friend Kelly was recently in with you also after I told here about you and she is nearly down a stone already. So both of us are looking forward to a nice shopping spree soon. Thanks so much”

-Flo, Dublin 6

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change.

“I started the gastric band hypnotherapy course over six weeks ago and have lost a stone. It worked and helped me change my diet and get my ass off the couch. Thank you for helping me understand that I had to take 100% responsibility for my own weight. I feel amazing and will continue the rules that you thought me.”

-W.G (Dublin)

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change.

“In March 2012 I went to the clinic, I did the weight loss programme, changed the way I look at the way I eat and what I eat. I read the book, Run Fat Bitch Run, which really helped me to get moving together with the hypnotherapy. Two months later and I am nearly at the one stone mark off my weight. You get out of it what you put in but it turns a switch on in your head and helps you to realize you can do this, you can lose the weight and you will.”

-Mary Keating (Coolock)

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change.

“Amazing, that’s how this therapy has been for me. I am in my 50’s and have had to deal with a cancer diagnosis. I attended Jason’s group in Bray and found the hypnotherapy a god send, my stress levels are down dramatically and I am now booking in to see Jason for weight loss ahead of an upcoming operation”

– John from Bray Cancer Support Centre

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change.

“I had some very bad habits, stress, diet and lack of exercise. I came to Jason to help me reduce my stress as I am a barrister and find that sometimes I get overwhelmed with work. Jason saw me for six sessions and I feel a lot more able now to deal with the day to day demands of my job”

– Garreth Robertson BL Dublin 2

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change.

“I am waiting for a heart operation and meet Jason socially and we agreed to work together to deal with my anxiety while I was waiting on my operation. Jason became a good friend and my weekly visits help me deal with my situation.”

– John Healy (Star of RTE’s The Restaurant)

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change.

“I was a smoker for 20 years and with the cost, the health issues and two young kids in my life I wanted and had to change. Jason worked with my to get off the fags and to be honest it was the best thing I have done. It took will power as well as the hypnotherapy but overall I am still of them and have a new lease of life”

– Tony from Swords

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change.

“Losing weight has been something I have tried to do for a long time and have tried everything. The advice and sessions with Jason has helped me to lose weight and maintain a healthy diet and exercise timetable, which is helping me keep the weight off.”

– Ellen Dublin 4

Disclaimer: Hypnosis results vary for each person and work best as part of a lifestyle change.

Press about hypnotherapy and hypnosis

Under Hypnosis, singer warbles through throat surgery to protect vocal cords

REUTERS

A professional singer said she sang through a throat surgery carried out under hypnosis in France to ensure that doctors did not harm her vocal cords.

Alama Kante, 31, who is from Guinea and specializes in traditional African songs, revealed the operation more than two months after it took place in April, saying earlier this week she was now fully healed.

“I remember (during surgery) this voice singing all the time, my voice going around in my head because I said to myself it is out of the question that I lose my voice,” said Kante, who lives in France and is the niece of Guinean singer Mory Kante.

The procedure to remove her thyroid gland, whose cells had become enlarged and was thus a cancer risk, was unorthodox. The operation is usually conducted under anesthetic, with a tube inserted down the throat.

Recognizing that the tumor extraction might truncate Kante’s singing range and that the tube might damage vocal cords and important nerves, Dr. Gilles Dhonneur opted for medical hypnosis to allow the patient to remain awake and able to respond during the procedure.

Dhonneur, head of anesthesiology at the Henri-Mondor de Cretail Hospital outside Paris, has been perfecting the technique of medical hypnosis for two years. “The pain of such an operation is unbearable if you’re conscious,” Dhonneur told Le Parisian daily. “Only medical hypnosis would allow someone to tolerate such an ordeal.”

Kante remembers the hypnotist telling her that the pain she felt was that of childbirth, and remembers the song lyrics she sang to help control it: “Fight, never give up . . .”

“There was a moment where I really felt pain . . . and it passed, the pain passed and afterwards it was normal, as if I were in a dream,” said Kante.

Hypnobirthing proved such a big success for one mother she decided to become an instructor

Emma-Jane Cunningham, from Northampton, is a mum to three children; James, seven, Thomas, four, and Benjamin, two.

She used the hypnobirthing method for her third son’s delivery and claims it made a huge difference and was ‘relaxing’.

Emma says the experience was ‘truly life changing’ so she decided she wanted to make other women’s labours as free from pain and stress-free as possible.

On her website, www.beautiful
beginning.co.uk, she states: “Hypnobirthing with Beautiful Beginning is a complete antenatal education programme, a fresh and modern approach to teach yourself and your birthing partner the 
specialised skills of self-hypnosis, relaxation, breathing, imagery and soothing stroke techniques (alongside the theory!), for a calm and more comfortable pregnancy, labour and birth and yes a pain-free labour and birth is possible!

“A lot of people still have the 
pre-conception that hypnobirthing is just for natural births but the classes I teach are just as much for a calm and relaxed pregnancy as it is for labour and birth. Therefore, which ever path your birthing 
experience takes, you will be able to put the techniques you have learnt into practice.

“By attending my classes and with continued practice in your own time your mind, body, partner and baby will all be very well prepared for your imminent birth.”

Expectant mums can start taking the hypnobirthing course from 20 weeks into their pregnancy.

They, along with their partners, attend four sessions each of which lasts about one hour.

Emma explained hypnobirthing was first used in the 1960s but in the last decade has become more and more popular, especially in America.

She explained one of the worst things about giving birth was women thinking it was going to be painful and would hurt.

She said this feeling caused the body to tense, the muscles to not relax and for the expectant mother to hit what she described as ‘panic mode’.

Emma feels using hypnobirthing makes the experience more 
comfortable, relaxing and something they would remember with joy.

She said: “All my three babies were born at home in a birth pool.

“You get taught how to be in 
control, to be deeply relaxed and to breathe.

“The message we want the ladies to take on board is to think they are at a holiday cottage by the seas and are looking out on a cove of 
confidence.

“We want all their fears and 
anxieties to go away in a pool of confidence.

“We want them to feel calm and be happy.

“Why should the uterus become tense when it should be relaxed as its one main aim was to help give birth,

“When I used the hypnobirthing tapes they made a huge difference.

“What the sessions do is teach them to breathe properly during labour and to take away the fear they could have about any pain.

“We do not want to have them 
hitting the panic mode which then causes them to panic and lose 
control.

“I tried the hypnobirthing tapes during my second pregnancy but did not do it correctly.

“When I did use it properly it made a huge difference.”

Read more: http://www.northampton-news-hp.co.uk/Health-and-Beauty/Hypnosis-delivers-pain-free-birth-says-mum-20140620110000.htm#ixzz35H5UFk7P

Gastric Banding article in the Irish Times

Alan Gilchrist has been practising hypnotherapy in Belfast for almost three decades. Since then, he has seen it all, and helped people with everything from Troubles-related trauma to phobias about false teeth and spiders.

Five or six years ago he started getting requests for a new form of treatment: the virtual gastric band. Instead of opting for the real thing – a drastic form of surgery for weight loss, in which a silicone strap is clamped around the top of the stomach, reducing the amount of food the patient can eat – you could bypass the cost, the pain and the risk by persuading yourself, under hypnosis, that you have actually had the operation.

“It’s simple really,” says Gilchrist. “You trick the mind into thinking it can’t eat a big meal.” Now it is one of his most requested procedures, and, according to Gilchrist, it can be done in one 30-minute session.

Confident, personable and tanned from his frequent work trips abroad, Gilchrist likes things to happen fast.

“When I started, I worked in the area of analytical hypnotherapy, regressing back to childhood,” he says, “but then I developed my own techniques, focusing on people’s current problems. That’s where my fast-track hypnosis comes from: people want to get over their problem as fast as they can and get on with their lives.”

Depending on the nature of their difficulty and how deeply embedded it is, patients usually attend between one and four sessions with Gilchrist.

On the couch

A large black leather couch, low to the ground, dominates his clinic. His voice is soothing and reassuring. It is not hard to imagine being lulled into a profound state of relaxation, a pleasant dream state in which the mind becomes open, porous and susceptible to change.

It is one thing though to alter bad habits, such as smoking or nail-biting, by implanting positive suggestions in the unconscious, but I’m struggling with the idea of fooling your body into believing – quite literally, at a gut level – something radically false about itself. It seems almost too good to be true: a fast and easy solution to obesity with none of the risks.

Clinics across Ireland offer similar treatments, and there are numerous self-help versions of the “virtual band” hypnotic process.

Davina Taylor, from Co Wicklow, is a believer. “I have always struggled with my weight, so when my sister suggested hypnotherapy, I thought I’d try it. Afterwards, I did something that’s never happened before: I went to get some chocolate from the kitchen and came out with a bowl of chopped fruit instead.

“At work, I have a drawer full of goodies in my desk, but I found I didn’t want to take anything from it. It motivated me to exercise more, too. After three weeks, I’d lost 9lb.”

Did she believe she had actually undergone the operation? “No, I didn’t think of it like that. It was a physical thing. It was like your mind telling you that you didn’t need all that food.”

However, Taylor found that the effects of the treatment wore off with time. “I think for it to work, you would really need weekly top-ups, but I have no doubt that if I had stuck to it, I’d be a size eight today.”

Paul Hughes, a hypnotherapist in the south of England, argues that quick-fix techniques do not get to the bottom of a person’s relationship with food, therefore cannot be expected to solve the real problem.

“People get overweight for a reason, and it’s largely because they are emotionally dependent on food,” he says. “Weight loss takes effort on the part of the client, and the virtual band removes that responsibility. People need to find out why they allowed themselves to get into that state.”

Gilchrist measures his own success in testimonials. The walls of his waiting room are filled with handwritten hymns of praise from former clients, stories of the kilograms dropping off, week by week.

However, as he points out, while many prospective clients come in asking for the virtual band procedure, the vast majority opt for his standard weight- control programme, which uses visualisation techniques to promote a healthier approach to fitness and vitality, and implants the idea that low-calorie foods are more appealing.

Whether your gastric band is real or imaginary, it seems there is no answer to weight loss that does not involve effort and willpower. The mind may be powerfully suggestible under hypnosis, but it’s still up to you to do the work.

Hypnosis to help sleep

THURSDAY, June 19, 2014 (HealthDay News) — A short session of hypnosis might lead to a better night’s sleep, says a team of Swiss researchers.

After listening to a sleep-promoting audio tape containing hypnotic suggestion, women who are suggestible to hypnosis spent two-thirds less time awake, and about 80 percent more time in deep sleep compared to those who slept without the hypnotic suggestion.

“There have been many reports that hypnosis can be a good thing for promoting sleep,” said study co-author Bjorn Rasch, a professor with the department of psychology in the division of biopsychology and methods at the University of Fribourg in Switzerland.

“However, usually they’ve been based on people just subjectively indicating how well they feel they’ve slept as a result,” Rasch noted.

The new study is the first to assess via measures of brain-wave activity “the positive impact hypnosis has on deep sleep and to show that it is, in fact, real,” he said.

At issue is the desire to boost so-called deep sleep, also known as slow-wave sleep.

This type of sleep “often correlates with the most restorative sleep — it’s a time for your brain to process and rejuvenate from the challenges of the day,” explained Dr. Kim Hutchison, assistant professor of neurology and sleep medicine at the Oregon Health and Science University in Portland.

“Over the course of people’s lives, with age, the amount of deep sleep drops off significantly. And by the time you’re 50 or 60 you hardly have any, depending on the person,” said Hutchison, who was not involved in the new research. “With age, non-refreshing sleep becomes a very common complaint, and one of the reasons can be not getting enough slow-wave sleep.”

To explore how hypnotic suggestion might help improve deep sleep, the Swiss team enlisted 70 healthy Swiss women aged 18 to 35. All participated in a series of five in-laboratory experiments, successively staged once a week for five weeks.

None of the participants had any history of sleep trouble. None were taking any kind of sleep medication. Some of the women, however, were deemed (in pre-study testing) to be “highly suggestible” to hypnosis, while others were categorized as “low suggestible” patients.

For each experiment, the women were outfitted with electrodes to monitor brain-wave activity and sleep patterns.

While lying in a bed with the lights off, the women were exposed to varying audio tapes of about 13 minutes in length. Some provided a hypnotic suggestion to sleep deeper, while others were designed to be neutral in content.

The women were allowed to fall asleep during or after the audio feeds, and all were woken up after they had spent a total of 90 minutes napping.

Hypnosis did not improve sleep in those deemed low-suggestible to hypnosis, the study found. However, women in the highly suggestible group slept 67 percent more and saw their “deep sleep” time rise by roughly 80 percent following exposure to audio hypnosis.

Other phases of sleep did not appear to be affected by hypnotic suggestion. However, the team further observed that slow-wave activity during the deep sleep phase was “significantly enhanced” following hypnosis. This suggests that not only does hypnosis boost deep sleep quantity, it may also improve deep sleep quality.

The team acknowledged that the study only included female participants. This was by design because men have a tendency to be less suggestible to hypnosis overall. However, men who are highly suggestible would probably derive similar sleep benefits from hypnosis, Rasch’s team said.

And given that roughly half the general population is believed to be moderately suggestible to hypnosis, the team concluded that hypnosis could ultimately prove to be a very useful — and side-effect free — way to help improve sleep.

“I have to emphasize that we did not focus on sleep-disorder patients,” said Rasch. “These were all healthy people. So while our findings are really promising, we do not yet have proof that hypnosis will help people who suffer from sleep disturbances. I would say it would. But it’s not yet proven,” he added.

“Also, although the impact of hypnosis on suggestible people was really clear and, I would say, amazing, I do not think that hypnosis would ever completely replace the need for sleep medication for those who need it,” Rasch said. “It could certainly reduce the need. But I don’t expect miracles from hypnosis. It’s a technique to consider. But in really strong cases of sleep disturbance a medical intervention might be necessary.”

Hutchison believes hypnosis can play a role in helping some people sleep better.

“I have found hypnosis can be helpful, even for non-susceptible patients,” she said. “Because it gives them something to focus on, and helps them to relax and quiet their mind before sleeping.”

Hutchison added that “there’s anecdotal evidence that the relaxation achieved can help improve sleep quality. In fact, I have been recommending sleep hypnosis phone apps for about the past five years.”

Findings from the study were published this month in the journal Sleep.


Read more at http://www.philly.com/philly/health/topics/HealthDay688758_20140619_Hypnosis_May_Help_Improve_Deep_Sleep.html#3JJLHi3WQg1arZ4s.99

Sleep and Hypnosis

The place of hypnosis in sleep medicine has been a subject of debate for many years. A few studies have shown its usefulness in conditions such as nightmares, sleep terrors, bedwetting, sleepwalking, and insomnia. However, few if any of these studies have been based upon anything other than the individual’s subjective reports.

An objective demonstration of the positive effects of hypnosis on sleep, especially deep sleep, appears in this month’s journal Sleep. The researchers enlisted 70 healthy Swiss women aged 18 to 35 and divided them, by testing, into those who were “highly suggestible” to hypnosis and those who were categorized as “low suggestible” patients.

The women were exposed to 13-minute tapes, one of which was conducive to sleep and which particularly emphasized metaphors for deep sleep while the other tapes did not. They were allowed to fall asleep while listening to the tape or just after for a period of 90 minutes. Then they were awakened. During this time, brain wave activity was monitored using anelectroencephalogram.

The findings were remarkable. Hypnosis had no effect on those women categorized as “low suggestible.” However, in those women who had been deemed as “highly suggestible,” hypnosis increased deep sleep on average by 80% and time spent awake was reduced by 67%. In addition, when those women who were “highly suggestible” were exposed to the other tapes, in particular one that was done in the same hypnotic cadence but contained no suggestion of deep sleep, there was no improvement in either their duration or depth of sleep.

We know that deep sleep, also referred to as slow wave sleep, decreases greatly with age. It is also diminished by many of the commonly prescribed sleep medications such as the benzodiazepines,–diazepam (Valium), and temazepam (Restoril), and the non-benzodiazepines such as zolpidem (Ambien). In fact, this loss of deep sleep has been correlated with a decrease in cognitive function, deterioration in the immune system, impaired tissue repair, as well as age-related brain atrophy.

What are we to make of this? It would appear that in those susceptible to hypnotic therapy, hypnosis might have a place in treating sleep disorders such as insomnia. In this very well done study, it did increase deep sleep and thus would appear to have a place in the non-pharmacological treatment of sleep disturbances. It may also prove to be of great benefit in our elderly population by preventing the usual deterioration of deep sleep seen with aging. I can tell you that I personally found this study to be eye opening. It is the first really well done study that demonstrates to me that hypnosis may have a very useful role in sleep medicine. I intend to be much more open to those hypnotic sleep applications on smart phones and hypnotherapy in general.

Hypnosis to be used in operations

Bob Dick toughed his way through a 90-minute total knee replacement without the aid of anesthesia, choosing to stay awake through the chisel and the buzz of the electric saw.

When he reached Duke University Hospital, he started breathing deeply, a signal for his body to relax. Next he held his thumb and forefinger together, imagining a walk around the pond at his Chatham County home. Then he told himself, “Now it’s safe to go into a comfortable learning trance.”

So began Dick’s surgery by hypnosis, which he describes as being so trouble-free that he hardly realized it happened. He had nerve-blockers reducing the pain throughout the surgery, but his deep relaxation techniques made “going under” unnecessary.

“It’s the closest thing to magic I know,” said Dick, a 72-year-old psychologist. “I knew it was there. I just wasn’t paying attention to it.”

Dick’s self-administered treatment is a rare but increasingly common alternative to general anesthesia, in which a patient is made unconscious through inhaled gases and intravenous drugs.

In 1957, Dr. William Saul Kroger demonstrated hypnosis on a breast cancer patient in New York, gaining notice in Time magazine.

In 2006, British television broadcast a patient having hernia surgery without any drugs, lulled into his inner peace.

In April, Guinean singer Alama Kante sang her way through throat surgery to keep doctors from damaging her vocal chords – a feat aided by hypnosis.

While anesthesia is widely considered safe, it carries the small risk of stroke, heart attack and death, especially in older adults or those with a serious medical history, according to the Mayo Clinic.

With this in mind, and knowing that anesthesia can mean a longer time in the hospital and in recovery, Dick decided to try the method he’s long employed in his own practice.

“And I wanted to show off a little,” he said.

The key comes from understanding what hypnosis is and isn’t. Popular culture typically portrays the procedure being conducted as the patient watches a metronome or a watch, listening to a heavily accented doctor chant, “You are getting sleepy …”

But to Dick, hypnosis is something practiced every day. A person engrossed in a movie or book is actually in a sort of trance. Someone meditating, praying or “zoning out” at work is using the same techniques that go into hypnosis.

As a young psychologist in the early 1970s, he studied for a week in Arizona with Milton Erickson, a psychiatrist who specialized in medical hypnosis. Rather than instructing patients with a direct order, Erickson would offer suggestions, much like Dick’s own: “Now it’s safe to go into a comfortable learning trance.”

In his own practice, he refers to it as an altered state of consciousness, an intense form of concentration that can change what the mind perceives. Also, he stresses that a patient can’t be forced into a trance, only willingly led.

“I don’t hypnotize people,” Dick said. “I can’t. I can’t hypnotize anybody but myself.”

He tried it during a colonoscopy, which didn’t work as well because the doctor asked him if it hurt, which focused his mind on the pain.

But hypnosis worked well for the cataract surgeries on both eyes, in which he was able to focus deeply enough to avoid seeing the knife.

But knee replacement took longer, and Dick practiced for two weeks ahead of the procedure, 30 to 45 minutes at a time. He also watched a YouTube video showing the operation, so he knew what noises to expect.

With surgery, “The anxiety is just as bad as physical pain,” Dick said. “I didn’t even know they’d started.”

Three weeks afterward, Dick had shed both walker and cane, recovering quickly. He hopes to be driving in a week and back to his semi-retired practice, encouraging his clients to relax.

Read more here: http://www.charlotteobserver.com/2014/06/26/5007187/chatham-county-psychologist-has.html#storylink=cpy
Gastric Band Hypnotherapy

More than one-third of US adults are obese according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The growing problem means more Americans are going under the knife to lose weight.

Now, a new hypnosis procedure may allow Americans to get the benefits of bariatric surgery without the risks.

“The virtual gastric band is an imaginary process which walks people through a very simple surgery, a gastric band surgery,” said Marc Carlin, director and primary hypnotist at the Hypnosis Center in New York City.

Carlin has been performing hypnosis for over 15 years and trains others around the world in the virtual gastric band technique.

The technique uses hypnosis to make patients believe they’ve had the physical weight loss surgery.

“On an unconscious, subconscious level, what they are experiencing is tightness in their stomach,” he said. “Not a physical tightness, but they just might feel fuller quicker when they start to eat.”

Barbara Pertchik, a virtual gastric band patient, went to Carlin in 2013 desperate to lose weight.

“I tried everything else, I was exercising, and I just couldn’t get my head into it,” she said. “I needed something and I didn’t want any medication.”

In six months, Pertchik lost 50 pounds and kept the weight off.

“The weight fell off me, I wasn’t on a diet, it fell off me,” she said. “I lost all my desire for sweets. I was eating and eating well.”

At the beginning of each session, Carlin takes notes about what is motivating the patient to overeat. He uses that information during the hypnosis session.

Once the patient is in a trance state, Carlin talks the patient through the surgery, from rolling into the operating room on a gurney to surgeons placing the band on their stomach. He also makes the experience more life-like by using sounds and smells.

“People lose weight right away, that’s the main thrust of the program. When they lose that kind of weight, they are motivated to continue with the program,” Carlin said.

He emphasized that the treatment isn’t for everyone and works best with patients who are 100 percent committed to weight loss.

Finally "Clinical Hypnotherapy" gets science backing needed to bring it into the mainstream of medical and pschological therapy

The D4 Clinic in Dublin has welcomed the breaking news in The Huffington Post today that clinical hypnotherapy has been scientifically proved to treat clients for help with deep sleep, IBS, quell hot flashes and calm nerves. The D4 Clinic is the only clinic in Ireland staffed by trained psychologists and offers clinical hypnotherapy.

 

According to The Huffington Post, hypnotherapy is now increasingly believed to improve many serious psychological conditions and now scienfic prove shows it can help improve deep sleep, reduce IBS, quell hot flashes and reduce nerves.

Hypnosis can help improve deep sleep.

 

In previous studies of the effects of hypnosis on sleep, study participants were simply asked to report back on how well (or poorly!) they felt they slept after hypnosis. But in a recent study, Swiss researchers were able to measure its effects by monitoring brain activity in a group of healthy, young women as they took a 90-minute nap after listening to a hypnotic suggestion tape. The women who were deemed the most susceptible to hypnosis spent 80 percent more time in slow-wave sleep (the deep, restorative phase of our shut-eye) after listening to the hypnosis tape than they did after listening to a neutral spoken text. “The results may be of major importance for patients with sleep problems and for older adults,” lead researcher Maren Cordi of the University of Zurich said in a statement. “In contrast to many sleep-inducing drugs, hypnosis has no adverse side effects.”

 

It can ease symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome.

In a 2003 study, 71 percent of 204 irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) patientsreported improved symptoms after 12 weekly hour-long hypnosis sessions, the APA reported. Of those who reported improvements, 81 percent continued to feel better up to six years after the hypnosis treatment had ended, according to the study. In a 2012 study, 85 percent of IBS patients who reported improvement after hypnosis still felt better up to seven years later. “The conclusion is that hypnotherapy could reduce both the consumption of healthcare and the cost to society, and thathypnosis therefore belongs in the arsenal of treatments for IBS,” researcher Magnus Simrén said in a statement.

Hypnosis can quell hot flashes.


Among postmenopausal women who reported at least 50 hot flashes a week, five weekly hypnosis sessions cut hot flashes by 74 percent 2 weeks later, a 2013 study found. Meanwhile, women who did not receive hypnosis but instead had weekly sessions with a clinician only experienced a 17 percent drop in hot flashes.

It can ease pain.

Hypnosis is perhaps most well-researched in the context of managing pain. Two meta-analyses of existing pain and hypnosis research, published in 2000 and 2009, deemed hypnosis effective at lowering pain associated with a number of conditions, including fibromyalgia, arthritis and cancer, but noted that few psychologists were using it, and those who were had little standardization in administering hypnotherapy.

Hypnosis can calm nerves.

Because of its ability to harness the powers of the mind, hypnosis is often employed to relieve anxieties related to other medical procedures, like surgery, scans or evengiving birth, called state anxiety. “The mechanism may be similar to the placebo effect — in which patients’ expectations play a major role in how they feel,” Melinda Beck wrote for the Wall Street Journal in 2012. “Hypnosis, in turn, can help patients adjust those expectations to minimize pain, fear and disability.” More research is needed to determine if hypnosis might alleviate generalized anxiety disorder or what’s called trait anxiety, or anxiety relating to personality rather than a specific event, according to a 2010 review of the research. Preliminary studies have started to examine hypnosis in depression treatment as well, but more research is needed.

According to the American Psychological Association. Hypnosis for health benefits “should be conducted only by properly trained and credentialed health care professionals (e.g. psychologists) who also have been trained in the use of hypnosis and who are working within the limits of their professional expertise,” according to the APA’s website.

The American Medical Association approved hypnosis as a therapy in 1958, and the American Psychological Assoociation followed suit three years later, according to Harvard Medical School

The life changing effects of hypnosis

— When she had a corporate job, Stephanie Levine was surrounded by stress.

“I saw behaviors manifest themselves and affect the work environment,” she said.

When she was facing surgery, she turned to self-hypnosis and never looked back.

“I wanted to teach people how powerful they really are,” Levine said.

Now a certified hypnotist and spiritual guidance counselor, Levine opened Transformative Hypnosis in Morrisville about a year ago. She focuses on stressors in her clients’ lives.

“I treat everyday maladies that come up – hiccups in people’s lives,” she said. “The behaviors that are preventing them from moving forward.

“Hypnosis uses suggestions to alter perceptions, thoughts, feelings and sensations, thereby facilitating long-term changes in behavior.”

Levine said habits such as smoking and nail-biting can be addressed by hypnosis.

At one time, she said, she saw an uptick in behaviors caused by holiday stress. Now, she says economic instability has caused stress to manifest year-round.

“The mind is a muscle,” Levine said. “The more you use it, the more powerful you become. We can empower ourselves to manipulate and manage so many things.”

One client had a selective eating disorder that prevented her from eating fruits or vegetables.

“In hypnosis, she changed her perceptions of her fears, and now she has a full diet,” Levine said.

Levine interviews first-time clients over the phone in a free consultation. The next step is a meeting in her home office to better understand what the client wants to accomplish with hypnosis.

“Then they move to ‘the big chair,’ ” she said.

Hypnosis is a process of relaxation, Levine said, where the client reaches a level of consciousness within the subconscious mind.

“That’s where all the habits you have are formed,” she said.

When hypnotized, clients remain in control and hear everything around them.

Ultimately, Levine said, hypnosis changes the belief system.

She said athletes and actors often turn to hypnosis to alleviate anxiety and gain confidence.

In addition to private sessions, Levine leads workshops on a variety of subjects such as pain and stress management. She is also a public speaker and does handwriting analysis.

“Handwriting is a footprint to your personality,” she said. “It can help me understand how to hypnotize you.”

Levine is careful to point out that she is not a psychologist. “A psychologist is trying to figure out where stress is coming from. A hypnotist is trying to change behavior. If it’s out of my scope, I want to get a psychologist or a doctor to work with the client.”

Each session lasts about an hour and, for some clients, that could be enough to change a behavior. Smoking cessation is often accomplished in one to two sessions, Levine said.

“I would never say anything is 100 percent,” she said. “But I have been incredibly successful at stopping smoking.”

Olivia Munn: Hypnotherapy helped me exercise

Olivia Munn was once hypnotised into exercising.

The ‘Magic Mike’ actress claims she only started working out a year ago when she went to a hypnotherapist who told her to hit the gym every morning at 6am – and she has been doing it ever since.

She explained in an interview with cosmetics guru Bobbi Brown for Yahoo! Beauty: ”I used to never exercise because I just hated the idea of all of it. But I saw this hypnotist (I have an OCD called Trichotillomania) and in one session he threw something in about working out and by the next week I was up every morning at 6am.

”I’ve been working out consistently ever since, and it’s been almost a year now.”

Olivia, 34, also revealed she invented her own diet which involved only eating meals where she could see every single ingredient.

She said: ”In 2009, I lost 16 pounds in two months because I came up with my own diet which was if I can’t see it I can’t eat it. If I go to a restaurant and say I’ll have the soup, I can’t see every single ingredient they put in – how much salt? How much sugar?

”I can’t see it unless I make it myself at home, so that takes away breads and other hidden ingredients.”

While the brunette bombshell admits she sometimes feels insecure about her Chinese heritage, she thinks it’s important to change the all-American standard of beauty.

She explained: ”When I was younger, what I saw as the face of beauty was very standard all-American white blonde hair blue eyes.

”So any time I feel uncomfortable, or I wish something was different, I just have to wash it away because I have to be a role model for my niece, and if I have daughters be role models for them and be comfortable with myself.”

Hypnodontist Juan Acosta, C.Ht., hypnotizes the author in preparation for scaling and root planing

Hypnosis and Dentistry

RELATED | Anxiety reduction in the office

The long history of using hypnosis in dentistry has been previously noted at DentistryIQ.com.(1,2,3) What’s new in this article is the idea that simple language patterns used by hypnotherapists can be learned by teams of dental professionals to make their patients more comfortable and their practices more profitable.

Editor’s note: View video at: http://youtu.be/cSMehIYupv8.

Contrary to the comic and mystical portrayals common in Las Vegas stage shows or Hollywood, guiding someone intohypnosis is primarily about influencing their focus of attention. This can be quickly and easily done by understanding a few core concepts and then communicating according to observable reactions and the desired response.(4)

No props or costumes are required, though the context of the dental office and the inherent authority of the dental professional does create an advantage. Everything you do and say contributes to the expectation formed by the patient. This in turn relates to their suggestibility–the likelihood of an automatic reaction matching your instructions.

When you say “This will only hurt a little,” the patient looks for the hurt and then assesses whether it is really a little or maybe more. You’ve focused attention on the expectation of pain and the patient accepts this as a suggestion.

Instead you can encourage the patient to take a few deep breaths and focus on their toes, noting “You are perfectly safe thinking about whichever toe makes you feel more comfortable now.” You can even predict that “In a moment, you can notice one of those toes is starting to tingle, and that just means the anesthesia is working.”

By shifting attention away from the delivery of the local anesthesia, while at the same time building expectation the anesthetic agent will begin working, the patient is being explicitly told “You are perfectly safe” and “You feel more comfortable now.” The instructions to the patient are embedded right into the ordinary conversational flow of treatment. It may seem odd to think of this as hypnosis but it utilizes many of the field’s most basic premises as pioneered by psychiatrist Milton H. Erickson, MD.(5)

Dr. Erickson has influenced multiple generations of hypnotists as well as the foundation of the field of Neuro-Linguistic Programming (NLP).(6) Those of us who model his approach refer to our style as conversational hypnosis. We recognize that a formal process of inducing “trance” is not necessary to influence someone to experience what we might call “hypnotic phenomena”–anesthesia/analgesia, time distortion, catalepsy, among others.(7)

We’ve all found ourselves surprised to discover a paper cut that’s been bleeding for a while, noticing the sting only once the cut comes to our awareness. This is a natural manifestation of analgesia. Of course, “Time flies when you’re having fun,” or slows to a crawl when enduring a boring event. And we sometimes find ourselves “frozen” or “paralyzed” by fear (catalepsy).

Each of these phenomena can seem amazing as a result of hypnotic suggestion but they are all really just natural and normal responses to life. That explains why you can learn to help patients be more comfortable through minor adjustments in your language; inducing hypnosis is not always necessary to produce the effect.(4,5,6,7)

We call these language skills hypnodontics and teach them to dental professionals in many different ways. Check this space in a future issue for a language pattern you can use to help reluctant patients book a recommended treatment they’ve been avoiding.

Hypnotic Relaxation May Ease Men's Hot Flashes



Hypnotic Relaxation May Ease Men’s Hot Flashes

By Associate News Editor
Reviewed by John M. Grohol, Psy.D. on July 12, 2014

Hypnotic Relaxation May Ease Men’s Hot Flashes

Men who experience hot flashes may suffer in silence, but a new study finds that hypnotic relaxationtherapy could provide some relief.

After seven weeks of hypnotic relaxation therapy, a 69-year-old man who had uncontrolled hot flashes following prostate cancer surgery showed a drastic decrease not only in hot flashes but also an impressive improvement in sleepquality, according to a study from Baylor University.

“Men are more reluctant to report hot flashes, and it’s not as prevalent. There are fewer ways to deal with it,” said study author Gary Elkins, Ph.D., director of Baylor’s Mind-Body Medicine Research Laboratory and a professor of psychology and neuroscience in Baylor’s College of Arts & Sciences.

“If a guy has hot flashes, you can’t say, ‘Well, why don’t we put you on estrogen?’ But it’s a pressing problem.”

Elkins noted that hot flashes occur in men with a history of prostate cancer — the second most common malignancy in men — or another disorder causing a testosterone deficiency.

Up to 80 percent of prostate cancer survivors experience hot flashes, with about 50 percent of them experiencing hot flashes so severe that they need treatment. Elkins adds that hot flashes due to prostate cancer tend to be more frequent, more severe, and more prolonged than those women experience.

Elkins has conducted previous research showing that hypnotic relaxation therapy benefits postmenopausal women and breast cancer survivors who suffer from hot flashes.

The outcomes for current treatments for men, such as hormone therapy and acupuncture, are mixed, the researcher noted.

The man in the Baylor study — referred to as “Mr. W” — was a married African-American who suffered nightly hot flashes beginning in 1999 because of androgen deficiency.

He found some relief through testosterone injections, but in 2010, was diagnosed with prostate cancer and forced to discontinue hormone therapy. Shortly after his prostate was surgically removed, he again began suffering hot flashes.

“He underwent seven weeks of hypnotic relaxation therapy involving clinically trained therapists and self-hypnosis, with results measured in self-reporting and physiological testing done through wearing skin monitors with electrodes,” Elkins said.

By the end of the treatment period, he experienced a 94 percent reduction in hot flashes, the researcher reports.

His sleep quality improved by 87 percent, measured by a standardized test, and although the sleep quality had dropped at a 12-week follow-up, it remained in the “good quality of sleep” range, according to the researcher.

Mr. W also kept a diary, which showed that at the beginning of the treatment period he was experiencing up to 160 hot flashes a week. Over the course of the treatment, that dropped to about 15 a week, he reported.

Besides being guided through steps by a therapist, he took part through self-hypnosis, visualizing fishing at his favorite Texas lake. He donned imaginary rubber boots, waded into the water and enjoyed a cool breeze as he cast a line and fish began to nibble.

The new study follows previous published studies by Elkins that found a marked decrease in hot flashes among postmenopausal women and also among breast cancer survivors who have undergone hypnotic relaxation therapy. It reduced hot flashes by as much as 80 percent, and research findings by clinically trained therapists show it also improved quality of life and lessened anxiety and depression.

“And that’s all without the increased risk of breast cancer or heart disease associated with hormone treatments such as estrogen or progestin,” Elkins said.

Weekly sessions over a five-week period involved hypnosis of 187 women by clinically trained therapists. The women also practiced self-hypnosis using audio recordings to visualize a snowy path or cool mountain creek.

During the treatments, the women wore skin monitors with electrodes and kept diaries of when they had hot flashes, how often, how severe they were, and what might have triggered flashes, such as stress, spicy foods, or being in a hot room.

Besides having few or no side effects, hypnotic relaxation therapy is cost-saving and allows patients to be involved in their own healing, Elkins noted.

“There’s no ‘One size fits all,’ ” he said. “But hypnotic relaxation therapy has been shown to be the most effective drug-free option — as well as having few or no side effects.”

The study, funded by the National Institutes of Health, was published in the International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis.

Source: Baylor University

One man's hot flashes vanished with hypnosis

One man’s hot flashes vanished with hypnosis

One man with terrible hot flashes—about 160 a week—found relief through hypnosis.

In a Baylor University case study recently published in the International Journal of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis, a 69-year-old man referred to as Mr. W underwent seven weeks of hypnotic relaxation therapy for hot flashes, and had positive results.

Although it’s less common, men indeed can get hot flashes, though they are typically less inclined to seek treatment for them. Unlike women, whose hot flashes are usually related to changes in estrogen, prostate cancer survivors can develop hot flashes as well. Hot flashes due to prostate cancer can actually be more severe and last longer than hot flashes among women.

“If a guy has hot flashes, you can’t say, ‘Well, why don’t we put you on estrogen?’ But it’s a pressing problem,” said study author Gary Elkins, director of Baylor’s Mind-Body Medicine Research Laboratory in a statement.

Mr. W, who was a prostate cancer survivor, went under both hypnosis with a therapist, and self-hypnosis. During the hypnosis, Mr.W imagined he was at his favorite fishing spot, sitting on a bucket between two trees on a long shore of grass, watching the water early in the morning. The hypnosis transcript would tell he would experience comfort and coolness, and that he would feel a cool breeze coming across the lake and would feel it on his face. Mr. W reported that he learned how to stop his hot flashes with self-hypnosis, and by the end of the sessions, he had a 94% decrease in hot flashes and a 87% increase in sleep quality.

The findings support earlier studies from the researchers on postmenopausal women and breast cancer survivors. People have varying responses to being hypnotized, but the researchers are hopeful, since it could be a cost effective way for people to deal with their symptoms themselves, without drugs.

Hypnosis in the USA

CHARLESTON, S.C. (WCIV) – Research shows it can help with weight loss, breaking a bad habit, hot flashes, and even pain management. While many people think of hypnosis as a parlor trick, it’s being used as a relaxation technique to change thoughts, feeling and behaviors.

In a cozy office on the 5th floor of the Maritime building, Hillary Evans uses hypnosis to change lives for the better.

“There’s different methods at doing hypnosis but at the most basic, it is relaxing the mind,” said Evans. “First relaxing the body, then relaxing the mind.”

Evans is a certified clinical hypnotherapist who runs her own practice called TrueHypnosis. She guides her clients through a five-phase method of changing their thoughts, feelings, behaviors and some ailments.

“I see a lot of people for everything,” said Evans. “I had a client come to me for an emergency tooth ache and they just couldn’t get to the dentist right away. So, I helped them with pain management.”

Carrie Montegomery is one of Evans’clients. She began hypnotherapy as a boost in confidence.

“Really, I just needed someone to amp up the other voice there that was saying, ‘You can do this!’ and turn down the voice telling me I couldn’t,” said Montegomery.

Montegomery says the hypnosis worked like a charm. From there, she began allowing Evans to help her with other things like memory loss and shoulder pain.

“She used a dial for me with numbers and she said, ‘Where is your pain at?’” said Montegomery. “So, I was at a 6 or 7. So, I’m envisioning a dial with numbers and breathing into the pain and just turning it down to zero.”

Evans says she’s helped clients tackle things like stuttering, depression, and dealing with life changes like divorce and grief.

“It’s really tapping into their own inner strength that they have. It’s a natural way of making change,” said Evans. “Really anything that the mind controls, hypnosis can work with.”

Evans says hypnotherapy has the greatest impact on those who believe in the process.

“People often say, ‘Well, can you hypnotize me?’ And the answer is yes, if you want to participate. It’s really something that– it’s not magic; it’s not mind control,” said Evans. “The client is always in control. Their conscious mind is always present. We’re just dialing it down.”

Evans says most of her clients are free of their ailments within five sessions of hypnotherapy.

DAILY MAIL JULY 2014

Hypnosis - does it really work?

At last, it’s official. Hypnotism really does work – and it has an impact on the brain which can be measured scientifically, according to one of America’s leading psychiatrists.

David Spiegel, from Stanford University, told the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science that he had scanned the brains of volunteers who were told they were looking at coloured objects when, in fact, they were black and white.

A scan showing areas of the brain used to register colour highlighted increased blood flow, indicating that the volunteers genuinely ‘saw’ colours, as they had been told they would.

‘This is scientific evidence that something happens in the brain when people are hypnotised that doesn’t happen ordinarily,’ Mr Spiegel told delegates.

He added that there were ‘tremendous medical implications’ and envisaged people being able to manage their own pain and anxiety.

Well, I am relieved to know that the people I have hypnotised on stage down the years were not just putting it on to please me and the audience. And, more importantly, that those I have cured of fears and phobias were genuinely cured.

I am delighted that this research confirms what professional hypnotists, such as myself, who have been successfully using the technique for medical purposes, have known all along – hypnotism has a genuine effect on the functioning of the mind, as well as the body.

Let me give you one example of my recent work in New York. Patricia was a high-flying business executive who had put off having a child for

many years because her career came first. Now the biological clock had clicked in and she desperately wanted a baby, but she could not get pregnant.

There was no physical reason for her infertility, and I soon came to realise that she had simply done a fine job of selfhypnosis, programming her body to reject pregnancy.

I re-hypnotised her to switch that part of her body back on, and within a couple of months she was pregnant and now has twins.

Another area in which hypnosis works is pain control. We can all remember concentrating desperately hard on, say, putting up a shelf.

Your screwdriver slips, you cut your finger – and it hardly registers. It is only when you have finished that you realise the finger hurts intolerably, and you notice blood running down your arm.

I have used that principle to help several women to have painless childbirths by hypnotising them into concentrating on things other than the forthcoming pain.

And it is even possible for selfhypnosis to do the trick. I know from experience that it is possible to teach that technique.

Recently I was talking to Dr Roger Bannister, the man who ran the first four-minute mile back in the Fifties. It had been deemed an unbreakable barrier. But within a year or so of his epic feat, some 30 other runners had done the same.

Had the world suddenly produced a new breed of supermen-Of course not. What had happened was that Roger’s astonishing feat had changed the mindset of many runners.

Instead of saying ‘That’s impossible’ they were now saying ‘You know, I could just do that’. And the mental shift impacted on their bodily functions.

Much of the work I now do with leading athletes involves that principle. I hypnotise them into accepting that they could do even better than they are doing.

Do I succeed? All I can say is that many of those sportsmen and women report back to me that their performance has improved, and they send their friends to consult me – which is the highest compliment.

The other area in which, in my experience, hypnotism works well is in curing irrational fears and phobias – as well as addictions such as smoking or overeating.

A good hypnotist can rid you of anxieties within half an hour, and in New York I conducted a televised experiment which proves it.

I hypnotised Gina, a young lady who had a morbid fear of flying. Then I took her up in a C111 transport plane and at 3,000ft opened the rear door and stood with her (harnessed of course) a mere 12in from the drop, while she calmly enjoyed the breathtaking view of the city.

As far as I am concerned, anything which says to the sceptics that hynotism is more than either a showbiz con or a simple matter of the weak-minded ‘victim’ being influenced by the stronger-willed hypnotist is worthwhile.

Please don’t misunderstand me. I have no worries about hypnotism as entertainment. That is how I started out, and I still love to perform on stage and television, although it can involve drama and hype and a slightly contrived, spooky atmosphere.

But, like many others, I soon came to realise that there is much more to the art than merely persuading people to do foolish things as a bit of fun.

As I looked into the history of hypnotism I learned that in its modern form it was first practised as ‘animal magnetism’ some 200 years ago in Vienna by one Dr Franz Anton Mesmer (hence the word mesmerised).

He was highly successful but he ended up ruined and driven out of the city by the medical establishment, having been accused of faking and practising magic.

Or take the case of 19th century surgeon James Esdaile. He practised in India and, as a matter of necessity, performed dozens of operations, including major amputations, without anaesthetic and without his patients feeling pain.

He claimed a 95 per cent success rate, at a time when most surgeons killed some 40 per cent of their patients. But when he came back to this country and tried to interest his colleagues in his discovery, he was laughed out of court by the medical authorities.

Is it any wonder then that those who discovered they had the power to hypnotise soon found they could do better by taking their skill on to the stage rather than into the consulting rooms?

Now I hope that the research conducted by David Spiegel and others will finally enable hypnotism to take its proper place as a serious part of medical science and its high time
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-101490/Hypnosis–does-really-work.html#ixzz38xAY7q5p

Hypnotherapy and Headaches

NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) — People have turned to hypnosis for help with everything from losing weight to quitting smoking.

Now, as CBS 2’s Maurice DuBois reported, hypnosis may also help relieve pain, including severe headaches and migraines.

“I expected abracadabra,” said Hedi White, a migraine sufferer.

But White said hypnosis is no trick, especially when it came to relieving her pain.

“It has really helped me,” she said.

White said she has tried just about every available treatment, but it’s through hypnosis that she learned to get control of her headaches at the onset, before they debilitate her.

“Do I experience the start of headaches? Yes.” she said. “Am I able to head them off? Yes.”

And she’s not alone.

“Hypnosis has helped many people,” said hypnotist Lisa Ludovici.

“In one session, I will teach them how powerful their mind is and how to lower their experience of pain,” she said.

Ludovici said hypnosis uses a guided relaxation and intense concentration to help a person’s attention become so focused that anything else that might be going on — including severe pain — is temporarily blocked out or ignored.

“The subconscious is open to positive suggestion and direction,” Ludovici said.

Dr. Dara Jamieson, director of the Headache Center at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center, said studies show hypnosis can be beneficial in managing headaches, but it’s not a proven cure.

“I think hypnosis does play a role for some patients in managing episodic migraine,” she said.

“If an individual realizes that they are beginning to have a migraine headache, then self-hypnosis, as well as other types of relaxation and calming behaviors, can be used to try and abort the pain, as well as lessen the impact of accompanying symptoms,” Jamieson added.

The National Institute of Health reviewed several studies on hypnosis, concluding that it’s effective with some chronic pain, including tension headaches.

“I say to the skeptics, ‘What do you have to lose?’” White said. “It’s definitely a tool that I found very helpful.”

Hypno-surgery

RALEIGH, N.C. | Bob Dick recently toughed his way through a 90-minute total knee replacement without the aid of anesthesia, choosing to stay awake through the chisel and the buzz of the electric saw.

When he reached Duke University Hospital, in Durham, N.C., he started breathing deeply, a signal for his body to relax. Next he held his thumb and forefinger together, imagining a walk around the pond at his home. Then he told himself, “Now it’s safe to go into a comfortable learning trance.”

So began Dick’s surgery by hypnosis, which he describes as being so trouble-free that he hardly realized it happened. He had nerve-blockers reducing the pain throughout the surgery, but his deep relaxation techniques made “going under” a needless step.

“It’s the closest thing to magic I know,” said Dick, a 72-year-old psychologist. “I knew it was there. I just wasn’t paying attention to it.”

Dick’s self-administered treatment is a rare but increasingly common alternative to general anesthesia, in which a patient is made unconscious through inhaled gases and intravenous drugs.

As a young psychologist in the early 1970s, he studied for a week in Arizona with Milton Erickson, a psychiatrist who specialized in medical hypnosis. Rather than instructing patients with a direct order, he would offer suggestions, much like Dick’s own: “Now it’s safe to go into a comfortable learning trance.”

He tried it during a colonoscopy, which didn’t work as well because the doctor asked him if it hurt, which focused his mind on the pain.

But hypnosis worked well for the cataract surgeries on both eyes, in which he was able to focus deeply enough to avoid seeing the knife.

Knee replacement took longer, and Dick practiced for two weeks ahead of the procedure, 30 to 45 minutes at a time. He also watched a YouTube video showing the operation, so he knew what noises to expect.

With surgery, “The anxiety is just as bad as physical pain,” Dick said. “I didn’t even know they’d started.”

Three weeks afterward, Dick had shed both walker and cane, recovering quickly. He was hoping to be driving soon and back to his semi-retired practice, encouraging his clients to relax.

Use Hypnotherapy To Deal With Grief - Hypnotherapist
By S. Chandravathani

KUALA LUMPUR, Aug 3 (Bernama) — The tragic downing of Malaysia Airlines (MAS) Flight MH17 amidst the bloody, political quagmire in Ukraine has no doubt, left the nation and the world in a state of numbed shock.

Cringing with tears and anger at the nightmare of a political in-fighting in Ukraine,

It has left the families of the 298 passengers and crew on board the ill-fated Boeing 777-200 aircraft having to deal with the unexpected grief and loss of loved ones.

Often, such deaths would eventually trigger a more serious depression lasting between six and eight weeks after the loss has occurred.

Observers say losing a family member or a close friend is never easy and no matter how prepared one is for a death, they can never be fully prepared for the loss and the grief.

Therefore, before it becomes excessive and unmanageble, clinical hypnotherapist and counsellor Dr Ajit Ludher suggests affected family members use hypnotherapy treatment, which he believes is among the best ways to help treat depression and cope with the death of a loved one.

Dr Ludher said hypnotherapy or hypnosis, a scientifically-acknowledged psychological and therapeutic discipline, could help change one’s perspective towards life in drastic positive ways.

Speaking to Bernama, he said this method had been proven to enable one’s self-consciousness to deal and cope with the stress of losing someone or something.

“It will bring a huge sense of release and relief, and put your thoughts and feelings back into a proper perspective.

“You will still have your memories but they will be less charged with painful feelings, allowing you to be able to talk openly, should you wish, without the fear of being overcome by gushing emotions,” he said.

Explaining further, Dr Ludher said the mind was divided into two parts – the conscious mind (logical, reasoning and thinking mind used all the time when we are awake) and the subconscious mind (repository of all experiences and memories).

“In the hypnotic state, the doorway between the conscious and the subconscious mind is opened – memories become easily accessible and you can work on the issues or challenges that have stopped us in the past.

“We are able to access and heal all emotional, mental and physical issues, which enable us to return to the positive state of mind, which will in turn, attract healing and positive possibilities into our lives,” he said.

On how a hypnotherapist did the job, Dr Ludher said they (hypnotherapists) would drop down from the conscious mind, which is only 10 per cent of the mind, and into the subconscious mind.

“We will address the whole person, 100 per cent of the mind rather than just treating the symptoms. Using hypnotherapy, we can go down to the deepest level of these traumatic experiences, memories and stored emotions to release them from the mind and body.”

He said hypnotherapy was not about forgetting but more about healing, accepting the reality of the loss, and most importantly, working through to the pain of grief.

Recognised as traditional and complementary medicine by the Malaysian Health Ministry, he said some 68 per cent of people had removed pain and anger, overcome stress and depression, chemical dependency, removed fears and phobias, increased confidence and broken through barriers by using hypnosis.

Dr Ludher reminded that hypnotherapy was not about hypnotising people; instead, it was a side-effect free and effective method to heal, that worked at the subconscious level and focused on dealing with the root of the problem.

— BERNAMA